Remembrance Sunday

th

Remembrance Sunday, which falls today, 8 November 2015, is a day for the nation to remember and honour those who have sacrificed themselves to secure and protect our freedom.

thCAYALUEU

I do hope that you can read this poem as it explains why the Poppy was chosen as the Remembrance Flower.

th

I’m so impressed with this picture.

thCAP0K41E

My daughter sent for one of the ceramic poppies that were on show at the Tower of London earlier this year and brought it up for me to see.

Rememberence Poppy 012

Rememberence Poppy 014

Rememberence Poppy 013

Just as she was getting into the car to drive the long journey home we remembered that we had not taken a photo of it with the Sashas, so a Sasha was quickly taken from nearby shelving for these few photos below.

Rememberence Poppy 001

th

Rememberence Poppy 003

th

Each poppy wass individually crafted by hand and I was amazed at how heavy each one was.

Rememberence Poppy 004

th

Rememberence Poppy 005

th

Rememberence Poppy 007

th

Rememberence Poppy 008

th

Rememberence Poppy 009

th

I pray…..

‘Eternal rest give unto them O Lord. May they rest in peace. Amen.’

th

My thoughts and prayers go out to the families who suffered loss of lives of their loved ones…..

…. and give thanks that my then young, recently married and father to me, although wounded twice, was spared and came back after serving for several years in Egypt and Italy.

th

22 thoughts on “Remembrance Sunday

    • It is always such a sad day and I’m afraid that I always spend most of the day close to tears as I remember how many died fighting for our freedom during the two world wars (and on-going conflicks.)
      Unfortunately I didn’t see or get to know my father for the first three/four years of my life as he was away fighting in the army.

      • I come from a military family too Kendal, mostly flyers. It saddens me to think that a war started when my daughter was born (the Gulf War) and she has never know a situation of peace in our world. The poem of Remembrance you included is particularly poignant to me.

      • How sad for your daughter as I well remember how tough life was then with the fighting and unrest going on all around you.
        One of my father’s brothers was in the RAF and flew the Spitfire aircraft (and was awarded the Victoria Cross for this) whilst the other of his brothers served in the army like him. Father became a captain and then a major (and then joined the Territorial army afterwards, like my two eldest brothers did.) I can remember that he was always on parade on Rememberance Day and we all went along to support and watch him.

      • How interesting about your father’s brother and his great achievement in being awarded a Victoria Cross. My father has devoted his life to studying the battle of Britain and in particular spitfire pilots and their lives.

      • My father had originally wanted to join the RAF but failed on the eye sight test due to being colour blind (which has since caused some interesting conversations/debates since he owned and worked in his manufacturing colour glazes buisness.)

    • Thank you. Our Poppies are such a beautiful reminder of those lost lives. I love to see them growing wild in our fields, waysides and hedges in the Summer months. So delicate blowing and swaying with the wind.

  1. Your words and images are a perfect tribute to all those who died and fought and survived in the Great War, and all those who have fought since for our country. We were fortunate to have a recent visit to the Menin Gate and the Flanders fields which was extremely emotional and it is a very special post you have done, thank-you.

  2. Hi Kendal a very poignant post indeed. My father fought in WW2 and was also the last soldier to come off guard a Buckingham Palace in peace time uniform, the moment was captured on Pathe news clip and was then incorporated into the film They Flew Alone. During my fathers war career he was taken prisoner taken to a camp. My Mother who had my two eldest brothers at this time received a dreaded telegram informing her that my father was missing presumed dead. My father along with 2 others escaped from the prison of war camp and made it to Sweden into neutral territory and then boarded a fishing boat to Scotland where he was debriefed. My mother told me that when my father returned he threw his cap into the room first so that she would not be too startled that he had returned.

    My Grandfather fought in WW1 and lost 3 brothers. My grandfather injured his legs and was told that he would never walk again. My grandfather started with 2 walking sticks and then managed with 1, he walked a mile a day right up to his death at the age of 94.

    I am so proud to have the genes of both these amazing men running through my veins xx

    • What a wonderfully couragous and happy ending to your factual story and as they say ‘so close to home.’
      Sometimes I think that most of us have life so easy that we fail to think of what others have gone through and fought for to give us this. It’s good that we remember and never forget.
      Our fathers were obviously made of sterner stuff and like those today that are defending our countries were prepared to fight for what is good and right. (I’m also proud to say my father went to work seven days a week plus he then went back there again every night to check on the working machinery until he was 91+ years old. Even when on a rare family holiday he travelled back and forth keeping things running smoothly.)

  3. A lovely post Kendal, so thought provoking.
    I love the Poem for Remembrance Day and of course ‘In Flanders Fields’……
    When I saw this post I had just been looking at some poppy photos that I took earlier this year, there are a lot of fields here in the earlier part of the year, that are full of poppies, just a sea of red. So beautiful.
    Big hugs Sharon x
    PS What a sweet girl you chose to be photographed with the poppy!

    • Thank you Sharon. The Poppy is a beautiful flower in itself especially when growing wild in the surrounding landscapes.
      I think that this Sasha was purely chosen and picked up at random as we walked through to the garden as she was wearing a touch of red….. but now realise on closer inspection that she is one of your favourite of my girls and she has on one of your ra-ra dresses!

  4. You definitely picked the right girl from the shelf for this photo shoot because her colouring (clothes, hair and skin tone) match very well with that poppy and the other bright flowers in your garden. We saw some of those poppies (behind glass) in the V&A museum earlier this year and last year were lucky enough to see the sea of poppies at the Tower of London on a glorious sunny day. Today my younger daughter and I participated in our local Remembrance day parade and service at the war memorial (we do every year) as she is a Girl Guide and I’m an old GG (Trefoil Guild). It is always a moving service and it is heartening to see how many people turn up for it each time, even when the weather is a bit suspect (fortunately the rain held off until afterwards).

    • How very kind of you to say that about my Sasha girl depicted in the photos in spite of her unbrushed hair and untidily tied ribbon, not to mention her dishevelled anorak slipping down off her shoulders and showing the seams and underside of the zip.
      Chon in her Brownie/Girl Guide uniforms and I always used to attend Alsager’s Memorial parade and Service at our Cenotaph but nowadays they close off the main road leading to our War Memorial and I’m now unable to walk the distance.
      My sister offered to take me down by train to London to see the poppies at the Tower of London but again the walking would have been too much for me BUT we have just read that 6000 of them are on display somewhere in Liverpool over then next ten weeks so are now hoping to go and see these.

  5. Thank you for this beautiful post of remembrance for all those lost to war. Despite all those who stood up to be counted we still have wars going on this day, be they fought in a different manner and still Men and women around the world stand firm to protect us from those who would rule by terror.
    Like all families , My grandmother lost two brothers to the 1st world war in France, so the 11 hour of the 11 day of the 11 month as always been a day for sadness and remembrance in my family. I personally wish that it was held on that day whatever day of the week the 11/11 falls on but it is good that we still remember All those on both sides who perished.

    On a lighter note your Sasha who came to see the poppy was dressed perfectly for her role.

    • So sorry to hear to hear about your grandmother loosing her two brothers in the first World War. Must have been heartbreaking for her.
      Yes, it would be much better to have our remembrances on that time, day and hour but it would rather restrict all those working people who would have liked to attend with not being allowed time off from their work.
      (I know even in my teaching days we were never allowed any time off {even forgoing pay} unless it was to attend a close (which only included a father, mother, brother or sister} family FUNERAL that couldn’t be held at any other time.
      Thanks for your last sentence about my doll.

  6. What should I write, Kendal? I’m german.

    I’m so sorry for all that cruelty and injustice.
    Be sure, my family and I don’t want any war.
    I do anything I can to get the other people here starting to think for themselves
    and watching our government more sceptical.

    • Lovely as always to hear from you but rest assured that there is no need for you to apologise on behalf of your country for what happened many years ago when so many young and un-necessary lives were lost on both sides.

      Congratulations on the birth of your recent little grandson, Remus. Wishing him and his family every happiness and good health for the future.
      Greatly looking forward to reading the continuation of your latest blog post, the Sasha/bear version of the fairytale, Snow White.

Leave a Reply

