A Reward for Tom…..and Happy Mother’s Day to all UK Sasha Collectors

Fritz asked if he could go with me to Waitrose the next time I was going as he wanted to buy something. (Thinking that it might be something for me for Mother’s Day on Sunday I refrained from asking any questions so just said yes, that would be ok.)

Waitrose 007

When we arrived there he went off on his own searching down the aisles before he returned to where I was to ask for a lift in the trolley until I reached the last but one aisle……as it is a very large store for such a little chap to walk through and the items that he wanted were too heavy for him to carry.

Waitrose 001

He jumped out when we got to the Pet Food department and luckily, as you can see, what he wanted was at floor level.

Waitrose 008

He explained that he had read on absolutely-sasha’s blog that Ronny’s French Bulldog, Tom, had swapped Lonely’s teddy for a Bonio and a couple of Gravy Bones… so he was going to send some of these down to him to say a big ‘Thank-you’ for letting Lonely have her teddy back

Waitrose 002

He reached for the Bonio’s first as there was only the one box left then continued a little further on where he had spied the tiny gravy bones that he had seen in Lonely’s dungaree’s pocket.

Waitrose 006

I think that Fritz still feels somewhat guilty that he wasn’t able to find and return Lonely’s teddy back to her when he went down to Sussex. NOT the knight in shining armour as he had hoped BUT he had enjoyed meeting Ronny’s Gotz lad, Spencer, and had struck up quite a friendship with him.

Waitrose 010

Now, back safely in the trolley with the required ‘doggie’ goodies, he told me that he still had one more call to make on the last aisle, before heading for the checkout. Then Mission Accomplished… apart from the payment.

Waitrose 012

He was wanting to buy Ronny a little gift to say thank you to her for having him and Terrorist to stay……….and had read on the various Sasha blogs that she liked the Jelly Babies sweets…… so a packet of these seemed to be the perfect solution.

Waitrose 015

(Whilst browsing he decided to also get some Liquorice Allsorts for me for Sunday.)

Waitrose 016

His shopping now completed he was ready for the ‘off!’

Waitrose 017

Waitrose 018

Once home he gathered all his purchases together on the dining table ready to wrap and pack.

Fritz 003

First up was a bar of Caramac (another of Ronny’s favourite sweet treats) that he had asked one of my brothers to try to get for him so that he could send it down for Lonely to give her mother on Mother’s Day (in the hope that the Ice Queen  might look kindly, or even lovingly, on Lonely…. even if only for this one day.)

Fritz 004

He  decided to make a little bag out of the wrapping paper for the Jelly Babies to slip into…. as they looked quite hard to wrap neatly otherwise.

Fritz 009

Now for the tricky part of tying the ribbon. (Luckily he had often seen me doing that with MY hands so hopefully he thought that it shouldn’t be too hard for him.)

Fritz 005

Just then Terrorist appeared in case an extra paw (or four) was needed.

Fritz 012

….But from the looks of things he was more of ‘a hindrance than a help!’

Fritz 014

Fritz 015

Presents now wrapped and be-ribboned he headed to the garage to choose a box to hold everything in. (I have an uncontrollable need to collect empty cardboard boxes so the garage is now full of them!)

Fritz 016

Oh, look something more has just been added….a Mother’s Day present of a Walnut Whip from his new friend Spencer, to his ex-mother Ronny.

Fritz 024

In goes the heavy stuff first so that the sweets won’t be squashed or broken.

Fritz 018

No! Terrorist! These aren’t for you, they’re for Ronny’s French Bulldog, Tom, that you met the other week when you were down there. Remember?

Fritz 020

….And NO you can’t get in the box and go back down there. Ronny has seven or eight real live rescue dogs living with her already…. and Uncle Steve might be very upset if you left us here!

Fritz 022

This second part is to wish all UK Sasha Collector Mothers a very happy Mother’s Day. (Yes, we know that other countries don’t celebrate it on the same day as we do here but we hope that you’ll enjoy these photos as well!)

I came out of hibernation for a few days as the sun was shining and had warmed the cold air up a little to allow me to venture out to my late mother’s bungalow to take a few photos of some of my NPs in the raised shrubbery.

In the Garden again 029

First up we have a Frido 1966 Developmental Gingham girl (although she was sold at a doll fair as a special MIB doll wearing the Brown Cord outfit with the larger early white box labelled accordingly. A lovely rare find! She is wearing an OOAK outfit by Ruthsdolls with commercially made shoes and socks.

In the Garden again 060

(Mind you she nearly gave me a heart attack as at the end of the photoshoot when I came to put them back into the IKEA bag to travel home….. I thought that it didn’t look as full as when I came. On checking the numbers I realised that she (and the MOST expensive of all my dolls) was missing. I quickly walked (can no longer run!) down the driveway, my heart in my mouth and beating ‘ten to the dozen’ searching for her…. and luckily found her in the bottom border by the private access lane, having fallen back into the greenery behind her… so was partially hidden from my view.)

In the Garden again 028

My second Frido 1966 Developmental Dungaree girl, again wearing another OOAK Ruthsdoll’s outfit.

In the Garden again 023

In the Garden again 024

In the Garden again 025

In the Garden again 027

Third Frido 1966 Developmental FCP Jeans doll seen here in a Molly (Thelma) pinafore and Phylis G. jumper taken from another outfit with Ruthsdoll’s shoes.

In the Garden again 016

In the Garden again 020

In the Garden again 021

Next up are my two Frido 1966 Graphic eyed girls. Shown first is a 1966 Frido Dungaree girl in a OOAK Ruthsdoll’s outfit, JJ sandals and commercially made socks..

In the Garden again 055

In the Garden again 053

In the Garden again 012

In the Garden again 013

Secondly, another Frido 1966 Graphic eyed Jeans/Farmpants doll. wearing a Pinestreetstudio OOAK outfit, Trendon Kiltie tights and commercially made shoes.

In the Garden again 052

In the Garden again 051

In the Garden again 050

In the Garden again 049

In the Garden again 002

In the Garden again 004

This 1967 Frido Blue Cord girl is perhaps one of my very favourites, with her concave face giving her that unique very young look. (Not sure just why she isn’t still in her Christmas dress like the others are but is in her favourite Dollydoodle leisure wear and commercially made converses.)

In the Garden again 048

In the Garden again 047

In the Garden again 046

In the Garden again 006

In the Garden again 009

Finally an early 1967 Frido quirky eyebrowed Blue Cord girl in a Karensyarn brushed cotton dress, navy Doll Secret tights and commercially made shoes.

In the Garden again 038

In the Garden again 036

I just love this pose!

In the Garden again 035

In the Garden again 034

Unfortunately after less than half an hour down there the cold and fatique of standing and bending had got to me so had to quickly pack up and return home to get warm and have my compulsory afternoon rest.

Therefore the other NPs in the second IKEA bag didn’t get their photoshoot turn that day…. but hopefully they will asap as cold, storms and snow are again forecasted for up here in the next few days…. so will obviously be returning back into hibernation again.

Again, happy Mother’s Day to all the UK Sasha Doll collectors.

Later Addition.

This parcel arrived from Ronny on Saturday morning.
And being a ‘goodie’ remained as so until later on Sunday morning. Equisite wrapping paper. So very English….just like me!

Mother's Day gifts 005

When I duly opened it as instructed to find this superb little pillow with a French Bulldog appliqued onto it plus a delightful card from Little Lonely (and which will always be treasured. It has restored my faith in Ronny’s mothering of Lonely.)

Mother's Day gifts 009

The delightful Mother’s Day card reads ‘To someone who is….like a Mum ….on Mother’s day….Put your feet up….and relax….’ (Sorry I should have taken a closer photo had I of realised that the wording hasn’t shown up as clearly as I thought it would have.)

Mother's Day gifts 014

‘You’ve earned it….With lots of love….and hugs….love Lonely xx.                                How simply wonderful is that? It has made me feel absolutely marvellous! Million/trillion thanks Ronny for your kindness and thoughtfulness in allowing Lonely to send me these!

Mother's Day gifts 012

My super daughter sent me these scrumptious chocolates and beautiful card plus a long phone call.

Mother's Day gifts 016

Love the wording. She always manages to chose me beautiful cards. Hope that I live up to them!

Mother's Day gifts 017

One of my Goddaughters never fails to send me a card on Mother’s Day. She is a wonderful caring girl and I’m so proud to be her Godmother.

Mother's Day gifts 019

Mother's Day gifts 022

I had a truely super day,,,many thanks to all who made it so special for me.

24 thoughts on “A Reward for Tom…..and Happy Mother’s Day to all UK Sasha Collectors

  1. Happy mother’s day to you , too ,and plenty of sunny , warmer days ,and Spring coming fast ! the last snows are called here “snow of the coucou-bird ” ,they don’t stay a long time and outdor photoshootting will be a pleasure for you -and us ,of course !-

    • Many thanks for your good Mothering Day and Spring wishes.
      Most interesting to learn about your last fall of snow over there. I’m hoping that ours, if we get it as forecasted, won’t remain for more than a day either as it does seem to interrupt the normal running of life here in the UK way too much..

  2. I think this has made my Mothering Sunday! I keep saying how stunning your Sashas are, but these early Frido Trendon Sashas are so beautiful, they touch one’s heart. The photographs, as always, are just perfect. Love the ones at Waitrose! Did you get any looks from other customers? Probably not! Astonishing what goes unremarked in this country! Such a lovely blog again. Love, karin xxx

    • I do hope that you have a very happy and relaxing day too.
      I have to agree that our Sasha Dolls are a delight to look at and I love dressing them in the gorgeous Sasha fashions that are around.

      I’m not too sure if I got any ‘looks’ from the other shoppers passing with their trolleys (probably did!) as I was too busy concentrating on photographing…..although there were two of the Waitrose shop assistants who might have been casually keeping an eye on me whilst they were filling up the shelves nearby.

  3. Kendal loved your trip with Fritz round the supermarket! A very thoughful young boy to be buying things for others.great seeing terrorist getting in the way!
    Fabulous photo’s of your amazing NP girl’s outside. They looked great against the trees and with the snowdrops in the background.You are braver than me, I have yet to venture outside for any garden shots!
    And to think you had lost one! I can imagine that walk back to look for her, heart in mouth! So glad you noticed before driving home!
    And you say you had another bag of gorgeous girl’s who did not get to venture out this time! So more to come when this nasty weather improves and Spring finally gets a hold !

    happy mothers day Kendal, keep snug and warm
    Dee x

    • Happy Mother’s Day to you too Dee.
      Not too sure if I’ll venture out later today as I have ‘spied with my little eye’ some tiny flakes of snow in the air as forecasted for here so must be cold out there!.

      Yes, it was a stressful and worrying few minutes when I realised that she wasn’t there lying with the others,on the lawn after being photographed, but as you said it could have been even worse had I arrived back home and then discovered that her standing space was still vacant!

      Fritz is a very polite, thoughtful and considerate lad,as so many of our Gregors are. Can’t believe just how attached I have become to them since the Dollydoodle leisure wear was launched. They are planning to have a Gregor blog post one of these Sundays when the girls have finished..

  4. Happy Mother’s Day! What a great post, lots of great pictures of your gorgeous girls in more lovely outfits! Always such a pleasure to see. So glad you found your lost girl, I can imagine your heart sunk to the floor when you realised she was missing. Loved Fritz’s trip to Waitrose, he obviously knows exactly what to buy, such a helpful lad! Have a great day, Gill xx

    • A very Happy Mother’s Day to you too, Gill.
      You can well imagine how I felt when I suddenly realised that that doll was not where she should have been after her photoshoot but luckily it was only a few minutes of sheer panic.

      I have never been down Waitrose’s pet food aisle before so it was a new experience for me.

  5. A thoroughly enjoyable and thoughtful post Kendal in which you most certainly went to a lot of effort to produce and very much appreciated by all I am certain I can say.

    Loving the fact Fritz went round the supermarket with you searching for goodies – so very kind of him.

    The girls look as gorgeous as ever in their delightful outfits and certainly seemed to enjoy their time out in the garden. Goodness so glad you realised your brunette was missing though, gosh I remember when you got her! It would have been a real disaster to have left her behind.

    A very happy Mother’s Day to you with extra hugs from Dear Henry 🙂

    • Many thanks for your’s and ‘Dear’ Henry’s Mother’s Day wishes and hugs.
      I hope that you too have a wonderful day with your family.

      Like you and ‘Dear’ Henry I do enjoy going ‘out and about’ with my dolls and no longer take any notice of what people say or their looks of disbelief as too busy with the posing and camera clicking!
      I was amazed the other day to actually see a young five year old girl in The Trafford Centre actually pushing a twin doll’s pushchair SO I can well imagine what’s being said about me on these occasions!

  6. Well Kendal, what can I say that hasn’t already been said? The post is absolutely superb and the NP’s are K1 (Awesome/excellent).
    Thank you so much for all the time and effort and thank you of course for all the wonderful goodies inside the parcel! Have already broken into some of it 🙂
    Have a wonderful day whatever you are doing x

  7. Many thanks Ronnie not only for this comment but for helping Little Lonely (and Tom!) choose a superb cushion with a French Bulldog appliqued on that she sent me for my Mother’s Day present along with a most gorgeous card that states ‘To someone who is…. Like a Mum to me …on Mother’s Day!’

    TODAY, everyone please note, I am taking back everything that I have said about your icy -ness and unloving-ness towards Lonely in the hope that this situation between you two will continue to improve in the future.

    Am especially thinking of you today and the sadness that you have to hold in your heart.
    Take extra care of yourself, thanks again and Sasha love from Kendal.xx

  8. What a treat to find in today’s post a trip to the market, and an outdoorsy photo-shoot of some very gorgeous and high-end NPs (not to mention, one that almost slipped away… omg, how scary)!
    Fritz is quite your *little helper* wrapping pressies and all… such a stylish lad, looking so hip and trendy… cute! cute! cute!
    Happy Mother’s Day! Hope your day is extra special… just like you!
    You have a spectacular blog, many many thanks. 🙂
    Hugs, -Anne

    • Apologies for not replying sooner. Many thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes. I had a really lovely day amidst my cards, presents, phone calls , TV programmes and Sashas..

      Glad that you enjoyed the blog post. It was good to get outside to do some photography in the natural environment again. I do like my backcloths but there’s noting quite like real life backgrounds..

  9. Thank you so much for all these lovely photos 🙂 These stunning early Frido Trendon Sashas are real eye candies. I have been waiting impatiently for these new photos of your perfectly dressed Sasha’s in a spring like environment. Liss xx

    • So pleased that you enjoyed seeing some of my Sashas outside again. It has been a long Winter here and looks like it hasn’t finished yet as we still have a few snowflakes swirling around to remind us that Spring hasn’t fully arrived.

  10. Hi Kendal,
    Happy Mothers Day to you and every other Sasha lover out there xx
    Fabulous blog, a real Mothers Day treat, thanks so much for the time and effort you have put into this for everybody.
    Hugs and love,
    Susan xoxo

    • Many thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes. I’m pleased tomhear that you had a lovely day over there too. (I wasn’t sure that it was Mother’s Day over there in the Republic of Ireland as well.)

      Unfortunately I seem nowadays to be reduced to only blog posting once a week as, as you mention it does take ME (not sure if it does with other bloggers or whether I’m just SLOW or disorganised!) a great deal of time to put a post together.

  11. This was emailed to me privately by Cathy who still can’t leave her comment…….
    ‘Hi Kendal,

    Happy Mothers Day to you also … do hope your Sasha brood are spoiling you rotten! Have you tucked into the liquorice all sorts yet? I have a sweet tooth but can resist those, they aren’t my cup of tea 🙂

    Loved your blog post, what a treat and super way to start my day! It was great to see Fritz in the isles of Waitrose … can’t help but wonder did any fellow shoppers stop to look?

    I love all your girls who you photographed out in the garden, lovely to see them out and about but hope you didn’t get too cold and have warmed up now! Your first girl is such a beauty … her dark brunette hair with the her dark blue eyes … breathtaking, she looks stunning in her outfit, I’m so glad you realised she was missing at the end of the photo shoot and found her … what a relief!
    Loving the redhead in her gorgeous dress, the colouring suits her perfectly .. The blonde looks so sweet in her tartan pinafore by Molly, I do like these pinafores … one on my wish list for the future! Am especially fond of tartan though, as reminds me of real little girlie type clothes.
    Wow what stunning graphic eyed girls you have .. the redhead and blonde .. I am particularly very fond of the blonde though … love how you have dressed these girls. The little blonde girl in her Dollydoodle leisure wear is sooo sweet .. she really does have a young looking face .. and I agree does look much younger than the others.
    Your blonde quirky eyebrowed girl is sooo gorgeous!! I just love the side shot of her leaning against the tree … I think this would look lovely framed, her outfit is again perfection, teamed with cute woolly tights and co-ordinating shoes … Kendal perfection as usual!

    Really enjoyed all the photos and will be back for another look again … I know you must have spent a lot of time doing this but I thoroughly enjoyed it, thanks!

    love Cathy x’

    • So sorry Cathy that you’re still unable to leave a comment as this was one of the reasons that I swapped blogs from blogspot to wordpress to make this process much easier.

      Many thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes. I hope that you too had a lovely day.

      I really enjoy taking photos of my Sashas outside when possible especially when no bending down is required. Unfortunately though there are not too many raised boarders around.
      Pleased to hear that you too liked the one of the doll leaning up against the tree. Sometimes I find that I enjoy seeing the poses of the dolls afterwards rather than the actual dolls….. though I’m sure that I’m in the minority and that most prefer seeing the dolls themselves!

      Good luck with getting your Sasha tartan pinafore in the near future. Good to have a wish list as it keeps you more focused.

  12. Thank you for adding the *later addition* to your blog. I enjoyed seeing all the photos of your cards and gifts… wonderful! You are loved… it doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂
    Hugs, -Anne

    • Thanks for returning to see the later addition. Might decide to add it tom the next post in case others didn’t return later to the post see it.
      I had a truly wonderful day thanks to everyone who was involved…. and that includes my blog followers who so very kindly left me these comments..

  13. What a great post Kendal. Loved the pictures of Fritz shopping at Waitrose! That must have been a real labour of love for you, what with all that bending.
    Love your very early girls. How lucky are you, having one of each hair colour?
    I really like your French bulldog cushion. xxx

    • Thanks Steve! In hindsight I should perhaps have taken Terrorists along with Fritz to the Pet Food Department in Waitrose so that he could see just what is available for our canines. (Mind you that might have cleared out my purse completely as there was SO much to chose from.)

      It was pure coincidence that I came to have one of each of the hair colours with the Developmental dolls as they don’t often come up for sale. I bought the blonde first, then the red head and finally the brunette who was with her original box.

      I too love my Bulldog cushion.Many, many thanks again Lonely. My favourite Mother’s Day gift. Might have to have an electronic tag fitted to it in April when my daughter visits!

Leave a comment